Bosch dishwasher tripping breaker - worth investigating?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Granted it's an old unit that someone gave me second hand.

But things are tight right now and I am wondering if it's worth trying to diagnose and repair.

Any pointers as to fault finding before opening her up and getting a multimeter to it?

It doesn't trip immediately on power on but when cycle begins, have only removed it so far as haven't had the time so don't know if it's when pump tries to kick in or element Heating up! Planning on having a fiddle today as have no work booked in... I'm a plumber and heating engineer so not completely out of my depth on this lol!

Or don't bother in this throw away world?

TIA

D.

IMG_20240701_080038.jpg

Sponsored Links
Check plug and fuse.
Check socket wires are tight.
Check fused spur switch.
Loose wires may show signs of burning causing random trip.

Apart from checking the above if it's old bin it. Dishwashers are not easy to fix unless it's obvious

Check plug and fuse.
Check socket wires are tight.
Check fused spur switch.
Loose wires may show signs of burning causing random trip.

Apart from checking the above if it's old bin it. Dishwashers are not easy to fix unless it's obvious

Cheers for quick reply.

We had issues with supply on previous unit so thought it was that again, even though I have replaced the spur and outlet, but plugging it into a different circuit produces the same result.

Set it up in garden (where son left it) connected to outside tap and extension lead.

Used wet vac to empty it and sump.

Tested it outside and all good.
Reset it and plugged extension lead into the normal under counter socket that supplies it and all still good, on its usual cycle.

So, looks like maybe something was blocking the pump!

Will put it all back in it's hole and see how it goes.

Will also have a quick check of connections in socket

Sponsored Links