CH flowing cold (without call for heat) - Tado / WR1

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Afternoon All,

Moved home recently and installed Tado V3 to replace EMP2 timer and a WR1 / thermostat.

HW worked okay but CH didn't until I realised the WR1 receiver next to the tank was still controlling the call for heat, so from searching I've joined terminals 1+3 together in the WR1 and Tado now controls CH and boiler fires as expected when heat is called for.

However I can now hear and feel cold water flowing through rads 24/7.

I wanted to check if this is normal? Having only been here less than two weeks I am certain before joining 1+3 on the WR1 I could not hear cold flow through the rads and wonder if perhaps at the time 1 + 3 were joined (prior to switching power off) a valve has been left permanently open?

I have some basic plumbing experience, have worked on my partners combi system before and my previous property was a new build with sealed system which I never needed to touch.

This is an old Edwardian property with presumably a vented system.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
It sounds like you may have an old heating system where the CH setting controls the Pump and the HW the boiler.

As the system originally was, when you turned the CH on at the EMP2 timer did the HW come on with it as well?

Can you provide details of the heating system does it have motorised valves and a hot water cylinder thermostat for example.

How have you wired the Tado in?

It sounds like you may have an old heating system where the CH setting controls the Pump and the HW the boiler.

As the system originally was, when you turned the CH on at the EMP2 timer did the HW come on with it as well?

Can you provide details of the heating system does it have motorised valves and a hot water cylinder thermostat for example.

How have you wired the Tado in?

I’m unsure but the original controller had separate CH and HW ‘once/twice/off’ sliders.