Damp Issue on Extention

DM7

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

A friend I have previously done lots of work for has asked me to repair a damp issue in his dental surgery. The damp problems mainly occur in the staffroom area located in an extension of the main building.

The extension must have been built around 15+ years ago, and this damp issue has always been present since the time my friend purchased the surgery (like maybe 10 years or so ago). He previously had someone come to repair the damp issue, and that repair guy basically replastered the wall, after installing some metal foil stuff to prevent the damp coming back. It lasted around a year, but the damp came back, and has been getting worse ever since.

I am not a damp expert, and so I thought to ask on this forum to see if there are some experts on this topic who can guide me on how to identify the cause of the damp, and the solution to repair the walls.

NB: I will say in advance, as I know there are some idiots on this forum who think the worse of others, jump to conclusions and just like to chat rubbish and spread hate (as has been the case when I previously posted onto this forum for help) I have told my friend that I am not sure what the cause of his damp issue is, and I have also sought his permission to post images of the damp onto this public forum, to see if other experienced traders are able to guide me on establishing what the cause of his damp issue is. Also, I will add that I have been in the trade for around 9+ years now and am very capable of doing general building work, and once I know what the solution to the problem is I should be able to sort it, otherwise, I will need to pass on this job, as already explained to my friend...

Some images of the building and damp:

This is the extension. All the ground floor internal walls have damp, inc. a small amount in the upstairs toilet room:

1726286115624.png

1726286269343.png