DIY Mistake with rewire

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
All,
I am a novice to electrics so hopefully I can find some assitance to a couple of problems I have (maybe one i created!)
Having read alot of threads and postings on this site and others like it I attempted to fit some ceiling roses to some pre exsisting wiring in my house in the UK. The wiring is very old i realise that but for now a full rewire is out of the question financially so I setout with some moneysaving intentions.
There were previosuly working chandelier type lights on the ceiling in the living room and dining room but these were removed when ceiling was replastered and bare wires left so i dont know how the wiring was hooked up previously. On two of the target ceiling wiring I had a live (red) earth (green on one and bare copper on the other) along with two black wires. Reading the guidance i found I assumed that one of blacks should be neutral and the other a live switched. I set out with my multi meter and having turned off all the power to the house, checked for low or zero resistance across the red and each black. The first setup I tested proved succesful in respect of this test. One of the black wires caused the ohms reading on the multi meter to zero out when switch was on, the other kept it at 1( switch on and switch off). All good so far.
On the second setup I couldnt get either black wire to move the multi meter at all, what type of problem would this indicate and what would be the next logical steps to rectify it?
On another setup, the kitchen, there was a working wiring of the same setup as before 1 red, 2 black and a green earth, wired into a three unit spotlight. The wiring from the ceiling came into the unit into a connector which passed the red to 3 browns, earth (green) folded back not connected and finally the two blacks were twisted together and wired to the connecter to 3 blues.