Electric shower to be disconnected

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

I am undertaking a project to refit/tile the entire bathroom. We currently have an electric shower which will be no longer needed. The electric feed for the shower goes outside of the house from the Connection unit, up the exterior of the building the re enters the house in the bathroom (a little concerning, although i am no electrician and just assume that this is not best practice).

Anyway, i have disconnected the shower/switches etc, and currently have safely capped of the live cable in my bathroom to allow for further prep of the room. Given this is no longer needed i intent to pay some kind and qualified fellow to disconnect this from the fuse cupboard for me.

I did wonder though, could this cable be used for a outdoor socket if done correctly? Or capped off outdoors as an interim measure until a get a spark to pay me a visit.

Any help/advice would be much appreciated.

Many thanks

Ste :LOL:

Sponsored Links
Is the cable from the fuseboard to the switch/shower twin and earth? (flat grey stuff). Not best practice to clip it along the outside of the wall on the exterior of the house, pretty poor to be honest.

When you say you have made the cable safe how do you mean? It really ought to be disconnected from its associated mcb/fuse. In the mean time i like to see a lock placed on the mcb with a tag, also insulate the bare ends of cable at the shower and switch location.

oh and the shower cable isnt suitable to be used as a socket feed so scrap that idea.

securespark wrote

It would if you put it on a 32A device.

well, technically you are correct but imo not best practice.....what size are we talking anyway? 6mm....possibly then, 10mm....no chance.... for what it takes to install a outdoor socket its best done correctly.

it may well be ok to do, but the picture i have in my head is saying yuk :D

Sponsored Links

Hi all