Fixed Appliance Isolation

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys, I'm new to this forum so I hope I'm posting in the right place :confused:

I am a fire and security engineer and have a few issues on safety with the company I'm working for and want some confirmation before I bring the matters up with management.

I'm coming across external CCTV camera's with mains present within the housings for the 12/24V PSU's but the spur units are inside the building, it is my understanding that such a camera is a fixed appliance and should have a means of isolation within 1 metre of the device?

Also I am finding that this company use through crimp connectors to join mains flex's, (again without isolation beeing in sight) though the connectors are insulated they tend to join the cable just using 1 end, the other end of the connector is open and the live connector is exposed at about 3mm inside.

Just need someone to confirm before refusing to work on this stuff.

Thanks

Steve

Sponsored Links
There is no specific regulation regarding the distance of isolation although externally in the IP boxwould have been a good idea. The crimp issue is no big problem.
In essence I don't think it's worth bothering with, especially seeing as anyone working on the system should be competant anyway.

I'm coming across external CCTV camera's with mains present within the housings for the 12/24V PSU's but the spur units are inside the building, it is my understanding that such a camera is a fixed appliance and should have a means of isolation within 1 metre of the device?

There is mains into the housing for the housing for the PSU (which is inside) but then presumably the external cameras only take 12/24vdc anyway?

If this is the case, then I wouldn't worry.