LED dimming question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I had success selecting and specifying LED lighting for my extension - a mixture of dimmable integrated downlights and LED tape. Despite not being an electrician, I managed to teach the installing sparky a thing or two from my hours of research. Especially the intricacies of configuring Varilight V-Pro dimmers.

I'm pleased with all the results, but for one thing, the two downlights in the little understairs WC are too bright. It would be easy enough to swap the existing 1way switch for a dimmer, but I would prefer to have a 1way switch to turn the lights on to a pre-set dimness (because kids and easily confused old people etc.).

My question - would it be acceptable to add a suitable dimmer (probably this one https://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/LTJP400MOD.html ) in series with the 1way switch, set it to the required level, hide it within the stud wall (but accessible by removing the dry lining box), then use the 1way switch to control the lights at the right level? It would seem similar to the way LV transformers are 'lost' in ceilings and stud walls, but I can just imagine falling foul of a reg that says no.

Any thoughts?

(there is the additional complication of the dimmer upsetting the extractor fan, but looking at other posts on here, I wont find out if that's a problem until I try it)

Sponsored Links
Put the dimmer vertically above the switch, high up out the way. It is not compliant to loose it in the wall.

Why not change the downlights for lower power ones or even just have one?

Ok, thanks Lectrician, suspected this might be the case. Is it that any controller has to be accessible, or is it just to avoid hiding things that future buyers wouldn't know about?

A single downlight is bad for shadows, and was hoping to use a <£10 dimmer rather than >£40 of new downlights.

Or maybe I need to consider alternatives to white emulsion for the smallest room in the house...

Sponsored Links