Maintaining old power drill

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a Black & Decker drill made in 1985. It still works perfectly after drilling timber, concrete, steel etc. Im not a professional so its not used every day, but it is used quite a lot. It occurs to be that I have never maintained it really apart from an odd wipe down.
I dont expect it to last another 40 years, but what should I do to look after it? Not sure if should be oiled anywhere or not.
Thanks

Sponsored Links
It occurs to be that I have never maintained it really apart from an odd wipe down.

The gearbox, in the 'nose' of the drill, might benefit from cleaning the old grease out, and adding some new. Also check the brushes for wear, and replace if necessary. Check the bearings, and fit new if necessary.

Unless you intend to stip it down, I would say run it until it stops working, the key exception being the brushes. They might well be trivial to replace, assuming that they are still available.

You had a good run with a tool that was DIY rated tool. If it dies, dig a hole in the garden and cover it up. Or throw it in the bin.

Sponsored Links
I have a few Black & Decker drills, kept as they have loads of tools, drill stand, lathe, sander etc. However hardly ever used, main problem is the plasticiser leaching out of the supply cable, and the cable cracking, but so easy to see when that has happened and fit new cable. In the main battery powered drills have replaced the old B&D, my battery drill has exchangeable heads, so sander, saw, hammer drill, screwdriver etc, all with same power source.

So the B&D really has no advantage any more, but either dad bought it me, or it was my dads, so mainly kept for nostalgia, as with the old Wolf Cub drill. Not sure I want to use a drill with metal body which is so old.

I have a few Black & Decker drills, kept as they have loads of tools, drill stand, lathe, sander etc.