Non-timer shower fan wiring query

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I should start by saying I'm a plumber and normally go out of my way to avoid anything to do with wiring, however my electrician is on holiday all week and I have promised to have all chasing and cables run ready for him to connect when he returns. I realise I should've asked him for a wiring diagram and he probably assumed I knew what to do, but it turns out I don't hence here I am!

The project is my own bathroom which has taken me nearly 6 months (near completion) since I only get the odd free day to work on it here and there, therefore any advice which prevents it dragging on would be very much appreciated. Really what I need is a step by step description of which cables to run from what and to what?

I'm fitting an in-line ceiling extractor fan in the loft space above the shower (which doesn't have a timer.)

The wall outside the bathroom door is block work in which I already have a chase from skirting to ceiling (for underfloor heat mat cables to stat, then 2.5mm T&E which runs up to and through loft space and back down to consumer unit in kitchen). The chase is large enough for additional cables I just need to know how many more boxes to cut in and where etc.

As I would rather not have a pull cord inside the bathroom is it possible to use a fan isolator switch outside?
Do I need an additional fused spur? Does this need mains power?
Also do I need a fused spur before the u/f heating stat?
Which size cable to I need for each step?

Any help very much appreciated, many thanks.

Sponsored Links
Extractors are normally powered from the lighting circuit. If you wanted it from the same one as the UFH, a fused spur would be required.

For a on/off switch on the wall, the simplest option will be to put a single 1 gang box in the wall, with a length of 1mm twin & earth cable from there to the fan position.