Patchy coverage on repaired plaster wall

di9

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
What am I doing wrong? I've read a few posts on patchy paint, but I'm not sure what the exact cause is for me.

I'm trying to paint this kitchen wall white. So far, I've:

. Applied 2 coats of watered down paint (to the consistency of milk) to the entire wall which I understood from Googling served to prime the surface. (The patches were so obvious, I applied the second coat.)
. Applied 3 or 4 quite thick coats of undiluted paint to each patchy area with a brush - that ended up covering about 60% of the wall.
. Applied 1 coat of undiluted paint to the entire wall with a roller.

But still the patches are visible, although much less so than to begin with:

IMG_1184.jpg

The plaster isn't new, and the wall looked a bit like this other one before I started painting:

IMG_1185.jpg

The property is in Spain, and these are the paints I've used, with both seeming to cover just as badly:

IMG_1187.jpg

IMG_1186.jpg

I don't remember ever needing so many coats. Is it just poor quality paint? Should I have primed with something else? How can I fix this?

Sponsored Links
The diluted paint, every time, was preparation as far as I am concern.

Nearly every job needs a minimum of two undiluted coats, if not three.

That said, I've no idea what that Spanish paint is like.

Maybe you could try a few more coats on a small area first, to see if you're wasting time.

If not, you need a thicker paint, or - and hopefully not - some sort of stain block, that covers things.

• Thanks
Reactions: di9
The diluted paint, every time, was preparation as far as I am concern.

Nearly every job needs a minimum of two undiluted coats, if not three.

That said, I've no idea what that Spanish paint is like.

Maybe you could try a few more coats on a small area first, to see if you're wasting time.

If not, you need a thicker paint, or - and hopefully not - some sort of stain block, that covers things.