Plate compactor issue(s) & repair

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All.

I am looking for any help and or advise that you might be able to give me.
I have no knowledge with regards to plate compactors, so please forgive the incoming dumb questions.

In short I'm having problems getting this plate compactor to work how I would expect.
By that I mean it doesn't seem to be compacting and it's not walking forward under it's own power, and needs a lot of help to move.

I have picked up a cheap little plate compactor for a upcoming project, as it was being sold cheap as spares or repair.
The seller said that it is a Neilsen branded unit, but I am unable to find anything on the unit to confirm the make or model, I am fully expecting this to be a copy of a copy of a chinese clone.
Searching google images I have found others that look the same as mine.
Neilsen C40.
Neilsen CT1703.
Jobsite C-40.
Jobsite CT1703.

As previously said this was sold as spares or repair, and the back story was that it was working, but was then stored for a number of years.
Sure enough opening up the fuel tank stank of old fuel, I removed the fuel tank, and drained as much of the "fuel" out, lovely rich dark brown.
I knew at this point there was absolutely no point in even trying to start it.
Quick check of the engine oil, yep it's at the right level but as dark as night.
I flushed out the fuel tank, and moved on through the fuel system, the pipes were not that bad, however the fuel on/off valve was completely blocked.
Seeing the state of the fuel tank and on/off valve, I knew that I would need to remove the carburettor and clean that.
And yes didn't it just, the bowl was full of crap, the main jet was blocked, and the float valve stuck open.
Everything in the carb was removed cleaned, inspected, and refitted.
Filled the tank with good new fuel, primed the system, and after a few good pulls of the cord, the engine tried.