Running electrics to outbuilding.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all, I am very new to electrics and am getting an electrician to do required work. However, I thought I would just check to see if it correct or if it just a cheap and easy option.

I have just built a new kitchen extension and the electrics have been installed by adding another ring main ( I think) from the existing kitchen. Is this an acceptable method?

For the external power supply to workshop the electrician has come off one of the sockets directly outside. Is this OK?

I am just about to bury the cable under the patio I am laying and need to know what cable to run up to the workshop. Does it need to be armoured? How shall I go about connecting the existing cable to the armoured cable?

Many thanks.

Sponsored Links
I have just built a new kitchen extension and the electrics have been installed by adding another ring main ( I think) from the existing kitchen. Is this an acceptable method?

He will have added to the existing ring, rather than provided a new circuit- check at the fuse board, do you now have 2 x fuses for the kitchen area, or just the one ?

For the external power supply to workshop the electrician has come off one of the sockets directly outside. Is this OK?

It's okay, but limits the max load to 13 amp. Since the kitchen tends to be the highest loaded circuit in the house you or he should have assessed the load requirements of the kitchen and the outbuilding to see if the circuit combined with the spur to the outside is suitable.

I am just about to bury the cable under the patio I am laying and need to know what cable to run up to the workshop. Does it need to be armoured? How shall I go about connecting the existing cable to the armoured cable?

Many thanks.

1st of all the external work needs to be notified under Part P, this is normally done by the electrician.