Silicone & masking tape......never again!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
That was a BIG MISTAKE around a bath. I have never used masking tape before but thought it would make a neater job.....ohh no it ruined it!

As I pealed off the masking tape it peeled off the surface of the silicone leaving behind a lumpy mess.

I did my best to re-smooth it over with limited success then had to wait for it to dry, apply another fine bead and finger smooth that, overall it is nowhere near as good a job as I would have made without the wretched masking tape.

Some may say I left it too long before peeling it but I started peeling as soon as I had completed the 3 sides of the bath against the tiles.

Sponsored Links
A steady hand in applying the silicone is always better - use a moist fingertip to smooth as you go along for a cleaner finish. (y)

I always use masking tape too, I think sometimes it's easy to apply too much silicone, the silicone where it meets the tape should be so thin you can practically see through it.

Sponsored Links
I always use green frog tape for this job. The trick I have found is to apply silicone using a lollipop stick - its perfect radius and super easy to manouvere. If you apply the tape at just the right distance from the joint on both vertical and horizontal faces, there is minimum overlap of silicone onto the tape. I then apply silicone to the joint, smooth the joint with lollipop stick dipped in white spirit helps, and then remove tape, and give a final smooth over with no tape

the whole finger being used for silicone I personally hate and thinks it can leave a really messy and incosistent finish.

Not that I'm brilliant with silicon, but I do what I watched a worktop pro do - put a small bead on, then spray it with water with a drop of detergent in, then tool it off with those little rubbery-plastic tools. Other techniques might be good, but I've found this works well for me.