solder fittings

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
guys,

im not very experienced with this but have done it a couple of times. today though i was using yorkshire fittings and when heating i could see the ring of solder coming through but I was trying to add just a little extra from my reel but the reel would not melt? Little confused here as it was obviously hot enough for the fitting but not the reel?

And afterwards, I noticed the pipe kind of had a rusty look to it around where I had been soldered. Everything was very clean before i started.

as i say im not very experienced with this but so far all looks OK, should i be worried?

thanks

Sponsored Links
Why add more solder to a Yorkshire fitting in the fist place. The manufacturers put enough solder in there to do the job perfectly for every sized fitting. Your solder must have a different melting point. The
discolouration is more than likely overheating.
Clean the pipe and fitting and apply flux to the pipe only and apply heat, As soon as you see the solder appearing out of the fitting and once the joint has cooled, clean off any surface flux and you should have a perfect joint.

Yorkshire are so ugly. If your going to add solder, just buy end feed at a fraction of the price.

The appearance of the fittings is not in doubt, just the method he was using in making the joint.

Sponsored Links
Will add heat the fitting evenly and dont just make sure you see solder ,make sure you see it all around the fitting .

Alot of people add some more solder to a yorkshire fitting just to cap it off, I'm a tight get and never buy yorkshiree fittings though! :p