Some questions for Texecom experts regarding internal sounders and sirenes and configuration of a custom zone type.

Reaction score
Country
Netherlands
Hello Alarm pros.

I am looking to install a Texecom Alarm in a new house. I have no experience with installing alarm systems but am doing some research.

Besides having pir detectors and smoke/fire detectors I was also looking into maybe wiring some water sensors like these ones: https://www.grisk.com/wp-content/uploads/mdocs/C_ES 5 Water Sensor Relay 2500 2600.pdf

I was planning to go with a Texecom Premier Elite panel and wiring some water sensors into a wired zone expander. Now I don't want the sirene to go off when a faucet leaks. I would prefer getting a notification on my phone (i am planning to integrate the Texecom Premier Elite into a home assistant that will send notifications to my phone when the water sensor zones are being triggered) and maybe something that beeps INSIDE the house.

So I grabbed the manual and started reading.
I see there are all kinds of different zone types you can configure for your zone. I was looking through them. The following one popped up as a possible candidate:

12 - Auxiliary
This zone type will cause a Silent alarm if it is activated when the system/area is armed or disarmed. The panel will also report an Auxiliary alarm to the Alarm Receiving Centre when using ‘Contact ID’ reporting.

Q1: I couldn't really find the defenition of a "Silent Alarm". I assume nothing beeps and nothing is visible on the keypads and it just notifies the external configured contact. Is that correct?

This doesn't seem like the settings I want, so i continued reading. I noticed there is something called 'custom' zone type. I think this could be the one I need.
The configuration settings for the custom zone are the following:

I - INTERNAL
Activation of this zone (when armed) will cause the internal sounders
to activate.

B - BELL/STROBE
Activation of this zone (when armed) will cause the external