Tile Identification Help Please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Good Morning,

Newbie here hoping someone may be able to help me identify the type/name of tiles on the roof of my recently bought house. The house was constructed in the early 60's I believe - no other houses in the area have these tiles so I'm struggling to find any information which is frustrating my search to source some spares.

I've attached some pictures, and thank you in advance for any details you are able to provide.

IMG_20230620_200255358.jpg

IMG_20230219_104700737.jpg
IMG_20230520_163438483.jpg

Sponsored Links
They look like Double Romans, a quick google search will find you some near you as they are readily available and reclamation yards will probably do a similar age and colour to match.

Thanks for your reply Daz. I suspected that might be Double Romans as well - while the style is similar, I think the "roll" on mine is wider/deeper?

I did think that but can only assume they are an early style of them. They may also be an old variety of Clay tile or the other similar tile i can think of is a variety called Bold Roll but it's not as close as the Romans.

Sponsored Links
Agree. Horrendous tile to work with.
they are not true double romans, they are not marley bold rolls or redland regents .. they look like bambino tile

Thank you both - sorry to sound completely naïve, is Bambino the brand name, or model? Also, out of curiosity why are they horrendous to work with? Thanks in advance

Thank you both - sorry to sound completely naïve, is Bambino the brand name, or model? Also, out of curiosity why are they horrendous to work with? Thanks in advance
The way you need to lay them and replacing any that break (whilst laying).

bambino are a clay tile bridgwater i think. i cant tell exactly from the image but thinking about it Redland did a version from memory ..statesman.

in which case Anchor would have a similar profile on their books.. dont ask for double romans as they are not.