Warm flat roof and ewi

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am building an solid brick extension and have a warm flat roof . The joists overhangs a bit. Then there is a fascia board. The plan was to put ewi all the way up into the fascia boards in between the joists ( in hindsight I should have built it differently to avoid joists and cold bridge - but this is my first project so please go easy on me ! I'm feeling pretty annoyed about it so I'll just make the best of a "bad" situation)

I think I will also spray foam from the inside the area between the wall plate and the joists . Is this sensible, to insulate both inside and outside the fascia board area ? Do I need to install any vcl on the wall or wall plate? I was told by ewi company I don't need vcl for phenolic wall insulation .

Thank you!

Sponsored Links
I am building an solid brick extension and have a warm flat roof . The joists overhangs a bit. Then there is a fascia board. The plan was to put ewi all the way up into the fascia boards in between the joists ( in hindsight I should have built it differently to avoid joists and cold bridge - but this is my first project so please go easy on me ! I'm feeling pretty annoyed about it so I'll just make the best of a "bad" situation)

I think I will also spray foam from the inside the area between the wall plate and the joists . Is this sensible, to insulate both inside and outside the fascia board area ? Do I need to install any vcl on the wall or wall plate? I was told by ewi company I don't need vcl for phenolic wall insulation .

Thank you!
Have you bricked-up between the joists?
For future reference - cavities are a great place to fit & forget the insulation. (y)

No. There is timber noggins between the joists at the edge. It's a small flat roof with 100mm x 47mm joists on top of a wooden wall plate .

There is no cavities as it's a solid wall with Kingspan k5 on the exterior.