Wireless thermostat for electric radiators?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Can you buy wireless thermostats that control electric radiators as follows:

1. Thermostat is battery operated and sends wireless signal to multiple radiators.
2. Wireless receiver at each radiator switches current on/off.
3. One thermostat ideally to control three radiators, two in lounge and one in bedroom next door.
4. No wired connection from thermostat to radiators.
5. Radiators will be Milano Windsor: 1 x 1000W, 2 x 800W.

Is such a system possible?

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
Well, Alexa can have indoor temperature sensors. You can also add plug-in smart switches, controlled by Alexa, although would be a bit wary, of their ability to switch a high load, frequently.

Thanks for the reply. I have no experience of Alexa.

I've added radiator wattages to my first post. The three radiators replace night storage heaters, which have two fused spurs as they were also "daytime" electric heaters.

You can get smart [ie, remote controlled] non-plug-in switches [I guess you would just call it a relay]. 1kW doesn't sound like an especially high load. Switches designed for immersion heaters might be more appropriate for higher loads.

Sponsored Links
You can get smart [ie, remote controlled] non-plug-in switches [I guess you would just call it a relay]. 1kW doesn't sound like an especially high load. Switches designed for immersion heaters might be more appropriate for higher loads.
Thanks, could you please post a link to one of these smart switches? Would it fit in a standard backbox between the fused spur and the radiator? I'm replacing plastic faceplates with brass ones which might block the wireless signal.

I would say that a metal backbox with a close fitting metal lid is going make a pretty effective Faraday cage :(

29 x 35 x 16cm, can switch 2kW AC.
1722189287917.png