16A MCB in pre loaded CU

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi, i am new to this forum

have been reading the electrics section in order to "brush up" on recent changes

Have also read all of Brian Scaddans book as a refresher and scanned through edition 16 ammendments

It has been about 20 years since I did any house wiring ( I am a time served electrician who left the profession to become a pen pusher )

I have a new MK split load CU from screwfix pre loaded

Have now got understanding again of what to put on RCD and non RCD protected but have one possibly silly question

What are the 16 amp MCB's suitable for except gap fillers

Sponsored Links
individual sockets immersion heaters smaller garage power installs (though most sparkys doing one from scratch seem to prefer to spec to at least 32A and sometimes 40A)

thanks for the reply

I was thinking along those lines but

1) who fits immersion heaters these days ?

2) where would a single socket be any use ?

quite a lot of people have immersion heaters, converted single room flats for example

single sockets are still put in due to "cost saving"

Sponsored Links
cheeers breezer

in the past few days have read many of your responses to peoples questions

you are always helpful and patient with newbies

guess i will take the 16A mcbs to my local electrical outlet and part ex them for a few 32/40 A

I need these as i am running four ring mains

downstairs/kitchen/upstairs bedroom ( computer room ) and a projected multimedia room

16 AMP MCB's are used for Fridge Freezer Circuits and Domestic Immersion Heaters, where they feed a 2.5.sq.mm cable direct to a single unswitched socket for a fridge freezer, or a 13amp Fuse Connection Unit in the case of an Immersion heater.

They are also used to feed economy seven night storage heaters too.

Immersion heaters are also installed as secondary backup water heating in a gas central heated house.

Breezer did say individual socket, not single, no?