Bit of a Problem!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am new to this chat room so please be easy with me. I am in the middle of rewiring my house but have come across a problem that I hope you lot can help me with.

I have miscounted how many circuits I have, and the new consumer unit is not bigenough. I have doubled up my lights and put them on a 16A trip switch to be safe, I have doubled up two of my socket rings and put that on a 40A trip. But as I have a lot of other circuits I find I need to have two 45A trips for the cooker and the shower, is it OK to double these up as they will never be used together, and the even if they are the wife only uses the oven and one hotplate.

Also this thing about connecting all pipes together with cable, is it really necessary, my main switch is an RCD trip so we are safe. It looks really horrible with decorated walls and green and yellow cable attached to every radiator and bit of pipe in the kitchen and bathroom. Do I really need to do it with an RCD trip?

thanks for your help.

Sponsored Links
Welcome to the forum! It really is a great source of information, usually very quickly too.

Multitech said:
But as I have a lot of other circuits I find I need to have two 45A trips for the cooker and the shower, is it OK to double these up as they will never be used together

With this question there are a variety of possible answers:

1) No
2) No
3) No ;)

Seriously though, I assume that you are talking about an electric shower, and by doubling up you mean connecting two circuits into one device on the CU? Those are the two circuits you least want to do this with.

Whilst you know you won't be using the two simultaneously, the next people who get the house will not know (would you mention it to them showing them round? I doubt it!). So they will end up with the electric shower tripping every time someone uses the oven simultaneously. It isn't unfeasible "you have a shower and I will cook you a nice breakfast" for example.