Cavity Wall Insulation – worth the risk?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I’ve had an unsolicited call (Door to Door) from a representative of a company (Effective Home) an organisation I not familiar with, stating that I qualified for free cavity wall insulation under a revised Government initiative called ‘Great British Insulation Scheme’.

And while I have no time whatsoever for cold calling approaches I decided to investigate further. It would appear that the scheme is legitimate and following the Government selection criteria I would indeed qualify. My property is a brick built 1960's simi.

However, as for the company he represents I have no knowledge. Furthermore, I have some misgivings about the whole CWI process in the light of dampness problems raised by some homeowners post insulation.

I would appreciate any views from the knowledgeable contributors on here?

Thanks, Benny.

Sponsored Links
There's hundreds of thousands of CWI properties in the UK, with no problems.

If the cavity is wide enough, the wall condition and the location acceptable, then there is no reason not to have CWI.

Thanks for your input, that's quite reassuring.

I believe the infill substance will be 'beads', so just as long as the survey is satisfactory and I can find a reputable installer all should be good.

Regards, Benny.

I wouldnt install it myself...cavity is there for a reason.

Sponsored Links