External siren - can it be modified to be turned off manually from inside?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I hope I can explain this sufficiently as I'm not very technical...

We have an i-on30EXD alarm system - pretty standard stuff, keypad in the hallway, sensors in the rooms, some kind of internal siren somewhere, and a big much noisier external siren positioned near the roof, so accessible only by a big ladder. If I call the install company to come and do a service, is there any way that they will also be able to install a manual shut off for that external alarm, ideally wired into the bedroom that it sits outside?

You may wonder why we want this - well about 7 years ago our external siren had a malfunction of some kind, and upset the neighborhood for several hours before the insall company were able to come round and fix it. I think they replaced it, I can't remember exactly - but nevertheless, I'm conscious that if that ever happened again, especially if it was at night, that would be extremely annoying, so if I could have some kind of manual override in the bedroom the other side of that external wall, then I could avoid that ever happening again. I don't think it would be compromising our security in any way - someone would need to set off the alarm in order to get into that bedroom, and would have to know that there was a manual shut off and where it was etc.

I know some may say 'ask the installer', but I'd like to get any idea from anyone knowledgeable on here if possible, in case the installer tries to fob me off, or in case there are particular questions that I should ask them etc.

TIA :)

Sponsored Links
Is it an insurance approved job ….do you claim a discount or have to have an alarm for your insurance ?
I have always done so previously, but I don't think it makes a huge difference to the premium, so if I'd be invalidating the insurance by doing this, I'd be happy to amend my insurance accordingly and pay a few pounds more.

Sponsored Links