Nest ... What replaces what

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Complete and utter noob here

I want to replace my programmer and thermostat with nest 3rd Gen

My programmer is right next to my boiler and the thermostat is in the other room

Am I right in thinking the heat link connects to where my programmer is and the actual nest thermostat replaces the thermostat

It should be a straight swap considering all the wires are there but just making sure it's the right way round

Attachments

• 20240910_122824.jpg
    20240910_122824.jpg
    139.4 KB · Views: 30
  • 20240910_122801.jpg
    20240910_122801.jpg
    108 KB · Views: 26
Sponsored Links
Mostly correct. The existing thermostat wires need connecting to T1 & T2 inside the Heat Link. If you leave them connected where they are you'll fry your new Nest

Mostly correct. The existing thermostat wires need connecting to T1 & T2 inside the Heat Link. If you leave them connected where they are you'll fry your new Nest
Thanks

If I already have a thermostat wired to the programmer, can the same wires be used to connect the heatlink and thermostat together ? I have the programmer in my utility room and the thermostat in another room

If not wireless would be an option

I don't want to have another wire connecting the heatlink and thermostat together

Sponsored Links
If I already have a thermostat wired to the programmer, can the same wires be used to connect the heatlink and thermostat together ?
As has been said above, you may be able to use the same cable to power the Nest thermostat - however, the thermostat cable is likely to be connected within the wiring centre (the plastic box below the programmer).
Some wiring changes will be needed in the wiring centre and possibly an extension cable run from the old thermostat cable to the Heatlink.