New electric oven which requires a hard-wired connection

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a new oven that needs hard wiring. The old oven was connected via a 3-pin plug. The spec states 'Total Electricity Loading (W): 4900'

I've looked at the fuse board and the MCB has b40 on it, so I'm assuming that's a 40A, so we should be good in that respect.

So my question is, is swapping out a 3-pin plug a DIY job, or do I need to call in an electrician? I've connected new sockets in the past, so not a complete novice.

If I were to DIY it, what would I need? Do I just swap out the existing 3-pin socket for something like this - https://www.screwfix.com/p/british-general-900-series-45a-1-gang-dp-cooker-switch-white/45659 or am I missing something?

Sponsored Links
Over the other side of the kitchen, I've had a look at how my existing induction hob is wired and I have a switched fused spur connecting to the mains and then the big red switch connecting into that, in which the induction hob is wired. Would I do the same for my oven?

PXL_20240720_110900847.jpg

Over the other side of the kitchen, I've had a look at how my existing induction hob is wired and I have a switched fused spur connecting to the mains and then the big red switch connecting into that, in which the induction hob is wired. Would I do the same for my oven?
Are you sure that the hob is actually connected to the Fused Connector Unit?

Is it a hob that limits the current?

Are you sure that the hob is actually connected to the Fused Connector Unit?

Is it a hob that limits the current?
Oh, I don't know, I just assumed as much. I didn't fit it as it was here when we moved in. Would it be normal for the electrical feed to come into the big switch and the appliance/hob to connect there as well? If that's the case, I wonder what the fused spur is for. Clearly, I'm no electrician.

Sponsored Links
An appliance using more than 3kW must not be connected to a socket circuit that is fused at 32A