one light switch stopped working - baffled by wiring!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all, I'm an electrics novice but pretty confused. I have a 3 gang, dimmable light switch.

Left switch - 2 external dimmable led lights.
Middle switch - 10 led kitchen ceiling dimmable downlights.
Right switch - 7 led undercabinet kitchen dimmable downlights (the different-looking module)

All working great since full refurb in 2017. Then the right switch stopped working properly - felt like the button wouldn't "click" in (very occasionally it did and lights would work fine).

Opened it up, fiddled a bit, and it now clicks nicely again. But lights won't switch on, there's a wire that has come unconnected which you can see in the photo. And much more complicated wiring than I was expecting - the switches are 1-way, not 2-way, yet L2 is getting used.

If someone could explain what's going on / how to fix this, would be much appreciated!

(If needed I have a replacement dimmer module I could use to replace the one on the right, that's the other photo).

IMG_5037.JPG
IMG_5038.JPG

Sponsored Links
Right switch 60 - 400 VA, so 7 LED's must be at least 8.6 watts, since likely wanting to run at 50% then really double that, so around 18 watt each, which is unlikely.

The other two are 5 to 75 watt so well within spec.

As to wire, seems most likely this
1728057927373.png
terminal on centre switch, but can only guess.

The replacement seems OK.

I look like the middle switch has 3 wires into 'L', in which case I'd assume the odd wire goes into '~'
1728057839107.png

Did you disconnect the wires to the right switch while you had it apart?

Sponsored Links
Thanks all! So to answer some of the questions:

1. The right switch lights (undercabinet) - can't remember wattage, but unlikely to be more than 5w each.
2. I did indeed disconnect the wires on the right switch, but then put them back as they were.