Proposed double storey side, Part single part double rear, complete render

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

I have been lurking in the background for a while now and have decided since I am about to embark on my own large extension I should try and document as much as possible.

I am planning on knocking down the side garage, and rebuilding it wider with a floor above. The rear will be a part single and part double storey extension.
It will all be built in blockwork with the intention of then rendering it all at the end.

A little bit about me.... So i have a BSc in Architectural Technology and a BSc in Building services design. I have worked for consultants and contractors on projects such as schools, hospitals, residential,. commercial and the rich and famous.

I started my own company about 5 years ago providing architectural plans for residential homes so I have used my skills to do my own planning. So far to date I have spent £206 on a planning application, £43 to discharge a condition, £400 on structural plans (mates rates), Party wall agreement - free and £1000 on the building regs application.

Total cost before I can put a spade in the ground is £1649.
Bear in mind that is based on getting the party wall agreement for free as i do work for a surveyor and also discounted structural plans as I give the structural engineer a lot of work.

Onto the house. So we brought a 1950s home in the south east. It is a detached house with space either side, 2 doubles and a box room so pretty standard stuff. We plan to knock down the garage to the side and rebuild it wider with a 1st floor extension above. On the rear will be a part single and part double.

Below is the existing and proposed floorplans.

Construction is due to start at the beginning of July. Prior to starting we will be insulating the old roof, cavity insulation, PIV installation and a new boiler.