RCD Tripping

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
Hoping someone has an idea of what is causing my RCD to trip before I have to get an electrician out.
If I have my kitchen sockets on they work fine and the RCD doesn't trip but if the MCB for the kitchen sockets is on and the boiler fires up the RCD protecting the kitchen MCB trips out, the boiler will keep working as it's on a seperate MCB and RCD.
With the kitchen MCB turned off the boiler fires up and the RCD doesn't trip out

Confused as to how something on a seperate circuit is causing the RCD to trip when the boiler fires up.

Anybody have an idea why??

Sponsored Links
Each circuit will have some back ground leakage, you can never get zero with an AC system, as always some capacitive and inductive leaking, but we can also have leakage we don't want which can add up.

So as an electrician I start by measuring
Diffrence line neutral 8 Feb 24 reduced.jpg
here showing the total leakage for my house, minus boiler and freezers which are on an uninterruptible supply. This reading is just within limits for a single RCD, we are allowed 30% of the RCD rating as back ground leakage, so 9 mA is max. Mine is actually split into 14 with all RCBO's so I am well within limits, but before the RCBO came in often electricians did not really test leakage, as there was little they could do even if too high, it was cross ones fingers and hope.

So likely two items are leaking more then they should, one you have identified as central heating, the other some thing in the kitchen, 3.5 mA it the limit for a single plugged in item, so step one, unplug all you can, and see if it still trips.