Replace mechanical immersion timer with smart switch?

Reaction score
Country
Ireland
I'd like to replace this flash immermat programmer with something smart that can be controlled/programmed remotely. It only controls the immersion heater, and should be rated at 20A (Ireland).

Can anyone recommend something reliable/safe?

Attachments

• IMG_20221127_124257.jpg
    IMG_20221127_124257.jpg
    139.7 KB · Views: 37
Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links
Yeah that looks interesting. Not that many reviews though which makes me apprehensive.

Could you elaborate on why? As a non electrician, i'd expect a fused switch to be a safer option than a non fused?
For a start it is not needed on an immersion heater circuit, and

fundamentally because (a lot of) the 13A fuses and fuse holders in FCUs and plugs do not like being fully loaded (12.5A) for hours on end - they heat and become loose.

Having said that I have known one which has lasted 'forever' as they should but you cannot tell which will and which will not.

I would start by asking why you want a smart switch? I have looked at some of our tariffs and can see with some it would be a good idea to have a smart system that turned on items like the immersion heater when the electric is cheap, however not found anything which integrates with our smart meter system which does seem rather to show they are not very smart?

So I use a fixed time tariff so I can set a simple timer to turn on when my battery charges, and appliances like washing machine turns on.

I have no idea what the Irish smart meters and tariffs are, I know the French are very different to us in the UK, so it depends why you want a smart switch?