Saunier Duval Micro Accumulator Vessel

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Sons combi is a Saunier Duval F30E plus, ( yes I know what you will all say from reading through the forum :eek: ) and is 3 years old.

The fault is a leak on the secondary circuit, domestic hot water.

I have traced the leak to the Micro Accumulator.

The leak appears to be from the area of the bolted joint between the upper and lower moulded sections of the accumulator.

I am a retired motor engineer and was able to use my old endoscope to have a look around and see water in the area of the joint, but due to restricted access could not actually see the exact spot where water was leaking from. There is no leak from the heating element joint on the top of the vessel.

I am presuming therefore that the leak is down to the failure of the joint gasket / o ring, my questions are,

1) is this a common fault.

2) am I correct in presuming the joint / gasket to be the fault, the only other thing I could think of would be a split in the vessel.

3) do you know if the gasket, if that is the fault, is a serviceable item / obtainable part , or as in my old trade, it will be a complete Micro unit.

Hope I have given you enough info.

Thanks in anticipation for your help.

I only found your site tonight, what a great idea.

Hope to be able to spread some of my knowlege and give some help in the cars section in the future.

Regards.

Bill

Sponsored Links
As you have read Saunier Duval just is a common fault... something the Frenchies sprung on us in a wine fueled flurry of vengence of our superior culinery abilities. :rolleyes: ;)

I think your greater worry is the fact that the boiler has to come off the wall to change/repair this part - and seeing as its Sauny that would be a good time to be humane for both you and your sone;and his boiler and it to sleep...

IMHO of couse....:

20.37 Micro accumulator vessel, refer to
diagram 20.26.
Before starting refer to the front of Section 20 Important