schedules of items inspected checklist

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am an apprentice electrician and i was just wondering if anyone could give me a detailed description of what all the options on the "schedules of items inspected" checklist on an Periodic Inspection Report For An Electrical Installation certificate because the "qualified electrician" that i work with doesn't seem to know. I am grateful for any help, thanks. :D

Sponsored Links
Very quickly... A more detailed answer can be found in GN3

direct + indirect:
SELV - separated extra low voltage
limitation of discharge of energy - related to special things like cattle fences I beleive

DIRECT
insulation of live parts - needs no explanation
Barriers and enclosures - the enclosures of wiring accesories, etc, there are IP requirements different surfaces have to meet
Obstacles - Not going to see this in a house, basically barriers and cages to stop people getting too close
Placing out of reach - not going to see this in a house either, live parts out of reach of being touched
PELV - Like SELV but refererened to earth, not going to see this in house
RCD for supplementary protection - thats RCD for sockets liable to be used outdoors

INDIRECT
Presence of earthing conductor - thats the earth from the supply to the DB
Presence of CPC - don't need to explain
Presence of main bonds - simple
Presence of sup bonds - simple
Presence of earthing arrangements for combined funtional and protective purposes - Sorry, TNC systems...not going to see this
Presence of arrangements for alt sources? RCDs and electrodes for standby generators, etc, not likely to see
RCD - simple
Class 2 equip - simple
Non-conducting location - Very special, not going to see
Earth free bonding - Very special, not going to see
Electrical Separation - Shaver sockets to BS3535 mainly

Mutual influence:
Proximity to other services - simple