Solve an argument: Should you turn ALL of the main switches off when working on electrics.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Sorry. A bit of an odd one.

Last night I was replacing plug sockets upstairs of a relatives house. On the main board I switched off the upstairs sockets (as labeled on the board), went upstairs and checked to make sure there was no electric to the plugs. I didn't lock off the board as it was only me and a relative in the house.

During this a neighbour came around for a cup of tea with my relative. When he found that I'd only turned off one switch he came bounding up the stairs moaning that what I was doing was dangerous. I asked why and he said "When working on electrics you turn ALL the switches off AND the main switch". He's a rather odd bloke and was going a bit off the rail. so I went along with his request and turned them all off to calm him down.
I am an amateur but I am able to replace plug sockets and have done it for over 25 years. This morning he sent me a screenshot of a website (a dodgy forum) that confirmed what he'd said.

Who is in the right/wrong on this one? I am 99% sure my way is the correct way but as I say I'm an amateur..

Sponsored Links
I throw the main switch and that's it.
If you short the earth out while working on electrics it trips the main switch anyway but best to turn the lot off.
Also test power is off.
As for stitches on plugs I've never seen that done.

If you short the earth out while working on electrics it trips the main switch anyway but best to turn the lot off.
Main switches do not trip.

If you only turn off an MCB, then touching Earth and Neutral will probably trip an RCCB (Residual Current Circuit Breaker) which usually covers several circuits.