Brick BBQ with cupboards - DPM?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

I'm building a BBQ with an adjacent granite worksurface supported on brick with a pair of cupboards below, one for general storage and once for a fridge.

I'd like it all to be as dry as possible inside, both for the stuff in the cupboard and also for the fridge. The whole lot is being built on a concrete slab I laid a couple of weeks ago. Should I put a DPM below the first layer of bricks to stop damp coming up into the cupboards or is this pointless? Would it need to cover the cupboard floors too and then have something (clay tiles, perhaps?) laid on top of it there?

I have no knowledge on the subject at all - learning everything from google, youtube and of course DIYNOT.

Thanks all

Sponsored Links
The risk is that a DPC detaches what's above from what's below. Not a problem normally, if you lean on a house then it isn't going to slide sideways as it weighs a hundred tons or so. But it would be very possible for someone leaning on your BBQ to slide or tip it sideways.

Having thought about it a little I did wonder if it might affect the strength - any thoughts on an alternative solution? DPM the cupboard floor only? Or would this be pointless without something in the brickwork? A waterproof additive to the mortar perhaps, that does the job of the DPM?

Having thought about it a little I did wonder if it might affect the strength - any thoughts on an alternative solution? DPM the cupboard floor only? Or would this be pointless without something in the brickwork? A waterproof additive to the mortar perhaps, that does the job of the DPM?
A cupboard in an external BBQ is not a good idea. Open slots - yes. This is an external construction that WILL get wet form all directions, no matter what.

Sponsored Links