upgrading heating control to smart - complete newbie!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
So we have a new build with a Evoqyl Therma Q boiler that has 2 heating zones and a therma programmer.

i am thinking this is a 3 channel and can be replaced by a Wiser 3 channel controller to make the system smart, so before i order i took of the controller and looked at the wiring and am now more confused as to what we actually have and if it would be a straight swap as some have suggested on You Tube vids or if it is a lot more complicated.

thank you for your thoughts :)

1701949055381.png
1701949203346.png

Elliott

Sponsored Links
Never heard of a Evoqyl Therma Q boiler. But from a wiring point of view the two items are electrically interchangeable. They only have 3 basic on/off switches inside. N & L are straight forward then:

ESI terminal 3 HW on = Wiser terminal 2 HW on (Dark brown wire)
ESI terminal 4 CH1 on = Wiser terminal 1 CH on (Black wire)
ESI terminal 6 CH2 on = Wiser terminal 3 CH on (Grey wire)

Wiser Three Channel
123.jpg

I believe that the unit in your photo is only of a programmer and there will be two room thermostats elsewhere. If so, they will need decommissioning properly, they can't just be disconnected a small wiring modification will also be required. If you do have separate room thermostats and need help with this, post back and give their details.

thank you,

to clarify this is my boiler:
1701958447852.png

i've not purchased the Wiser stuff yet, but it does come with 2 wireless room thermostats which i plan on wall mounting in place of the existing ones.

are you saying for the programmer that i should theoretically just be able to swap over the current one for the wiser?

thanks

That's not a boiler, it's an unvented hot water cylinder. The hot water cylinder will be heated by the boiler, the boiler will look more like this:

Screenshot 2023-12-07 151004.jpg